Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, elit eget consectetuer adipiscing aenean dolor


Singapore hosts The International 2022

On May 22, Valve announced the biggest Dota 2 tournament The International (TI) is set to be hosted by Singapore at the Suntec Arena and the Singapore Indoor Stadium from October 8 to 30, 2022. This year will be the first time the event is hosted in South East Asia with a total of 30 teams expected to show up and fight their way to the top and get their share of the total prize pool of $45 million.

The format for TI is different this year since it will start with the wildcard qualifiers where 12 teams battle it out for the last two spots that will join the TI proper. Once the 20 teams have been finalised, they will be divided into two groups for the first stage of the competition.

The playoff stage, meanwhile, will see the top four teams in each group in the upper bracket, the next four teams in the lower bracket, and the last two teams eliminated. The remaining teams will be competing in the various rounds of the playoffs up until the finals.

Fans questioned the five-day gap between the last day of the playoffs and the finals in this year’s TI. Valve explained that the gap will give players more breaks and bring an intense build-up before the finals.

Who qualifies for The International?

This year’s The International will begin with 20 teams who will be divided into two groups. These teams will be determined by direct invites, regional qualifiers, and wildcards.

Direct invites are given to the top 12 teams earning the highest number of points from the Dota Pro Circuit (DPC). The DPC is a series of events sponsored and sanctioned by Valve. The last DPC event for the 2021-22 season is the Arlington Major which will be held in August.

Regional qualifiers are six separate tournaments that determine the additional teams for TI. The six regions that hold these tournaments are:

  • North America
  • South America
  • Western Europe
  • Eastern Europe
  • China
  • South East Asia

The wildcards are two additional spots that will be fought for by 12 teams who will also be in Singapore for this year’s TI.

Arlington Major: The final preview to TI

The last Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) Major event will take place in Arlington, Texas from August 4 to 14. This event will be the last chance for DPC teams to earn valuable points and secure their spots for The International. The total prize pool for the Arlington Major is expected to be $500,000. It is believed the format for the event will follow the recently concluded Stockholm Major won by OG.

The Arlington Major will see the 18 best teams from each regional league after they play the summer split from June 6 to July 17.

How it looks so far in the DPC

OG had a much-needed boost in their Stockholm Major win, propelling them to third place in the 2021-22 DPC standings. The same can be said for runners-up TSM and Tundra Esports who are now in second and ninth place, respectively. 

Here are the top 12 teams after the Stockholm Major:

  • PSG.LGD: 1400 points
  • TSM: 1280 points
  • OG: 1140 points
  • Gaimin Gladiators: 1130 points
  • Thunder Awaken: 1140 points
  • beastcoast: 995 points
  • Fnatic: 820 points
  • Team Spirit: 790 points
  • Tundra Esports: 712 points
  • BetBoom Team: 640 points
  • Team Aster: 640 points
  • BOOM Esports: 622.5 points

The DPC’s point system determines the 12 teams who will be invited for The International. The total points for each team this season will be finalised after the Arlington Major this August. Stay tuned for more developments on Bitcasino Dota 2 news here.

Words by: Jean Vince Razal